WFC judges, UC Davis wins in 30 Under 30 Awards

June 15, 2016

Four UC Davis students or alumni were recognized this week as pioneers and innovators for extraordinary contributions in food. The UC Global Food Initiative presented the winners with its annual 30 Under 30 Awards. The eight-member selection committee for the awards included the World Food Center's Josette Lewis, along with UC President Janet Napolitano, celebrated authors and editors and renowned food entrepreneurs. 

The UC Davis winners are:

Brianna McGuire, 26 - McGuire is co-founder and CEO of Foodfully, a small business building software to eliminate household food waste. The Foodfully app syncs with store loyalty cards and scans receipts to track food purchases, sending users reminders when their food is most likely to go bad, and providing recipes for soon-to-spoil items.

Matthew Meisner, 26 - Meisner is a co-founder and head of data science of Farmers Business Network, a rapidly growing venture-backed startup with the mission of harnessing farm data for the benefit of farmers. Data is the next frontier in agricultural productivity and Meisner is at the forefront of innovating to create this future.

Kate Polakiewicz, 29 – Polakiewicz is an agricultural scientist specializing in sustainable production and extension services for small-scale producers in the developing world, with a background in fair trade certification and supply chain labor practices. Polakiewicz also helps lead the development of coffee education at UC Davis, and will travel to Honduras this year to work with Catholic Relief Services’ Blue Harvest program as part of a UC-USAID fellowship.

Edward Silva, 26 – Silva is executive director of Thought For Food and co-founder of Henlight –a solar-powered solution to help small-scale poultry farmers. His current work for Thought For Food focuses on a reciprocal value proposition project, developing a handful of tools that allow the global community to engage with an ever-changing food/agriculture industry in a more effective way.

See all the winners